‘Modern Family’ Will Finish Up with an 11th Season

Modern Family renewed season 11
Nolan Gould, Ariel Winter, Ty Burrell, Julie Bowen and Sarah Hyland star in ‘Modern Family’ (ABC/Robert Ashcroft)

The good news: ABC’s award-winning half-hour comedy, Modern Family, has earned an 11th season. The bad news: season 11 will be the show’s final season.

Created by Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd, the Emmy-winning series stars Ed O’Neill as Jay Pritchett, Julie Bowen as Claire Dunphy, Ty Burrell as Phil Dunphy, Sofia Vergara as Gloria Pritchett, Jesse Tyler Ferguson as Mitchell Pritchett, and Eric Stonestreet as Cameron Tucker. Sarah Hyland plays Haley Dunphy, Nolan Gould is Luke Dunphy, Ariel Winter is Alex Dunphy, Rico Rodriguez plays Manny Delgado, Aubrey Anderson-Emmons is Lily Tucker-Pritchett, and Jeremy Maguire plays Joe Pritchett.

“Chris and Steve have created one of the most seminal and iconic comedies in television history,” stated Karey Burke, president, ABC Entertainment, announcing the show’s 11th season order. “In its final season, there will be more milestone events that anyone who has been a fan of the series won’t want to miss.”

“For 10 years, our characters have bravely faced turning points in life and moved through them to great personal enrichment; we have chosen a different path by doing one more season of Modern Family,” said co-creator and executive producer Christopher Lloyd.

“Even after 10 years together, we realized there are still some things our writers don’t yet know about each other’s sex lives,” added co-creator and executive producer Steve Levitan.

Season 10 is currently airing on Wednesdays at 9pm ET/PT. Even 10 years in, Modern Family still ranks first in its time slot among adults 18-49. It’s also hanging in there at the number four spot on the list of top five comedies this season.

Over its 10 year run, Modern Family has earned five Emmys in the Outstanding Comedy Series category. The comedy also picked up four Screen Actors Guild awards in the Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series category, as well as six Writers Guild and four Producers Guild awards.