‘Vikings’ Renewed for Season 5, Jonathan Rhys Meyers Joins the Cast

Vikings Alyssa Sutherland, Travis Fimmel, Dianne Doan
Queen Aslaug (Alyssa Sutherland), King Ragnar (Travis Fimmel) and Yidu (Dianne Doan) in ‘Vikings’ (Photo by Jonathan Hession/HISTORY
Copyright 2016)

History’s Vikings has earned a fifth season order after drawing an average of 4.2 million viewers during season four which is currently airing on Thursday nights at 10pm ET/PT. In addition to announcing the renewal, History revealed Jonathan Rhys Meyers (Dracula) has joined the cast of season five. Filming’s expected to begin on the fifth season this summer, with the network confirming the new season will air in 2017. History also confirmed season five will consist of 20 hour-long episodes.

Vikings writer/creator/executive producer Michael Hirst previously worked with Jonathan Rhys Meyers on The Tudors.

“The brilliant writing and depth of historical research and authenticity brought to the screen by Michael Hirst paired with our talented cast and crew, has made this series one of the most compelling, visually stunning historical dramas on television,” said Jana Bennett, President and General Manager of HISTORY. “Vikings has raided the hearts of audiences and we are thrilled that Jonathan Rhys Myers will become a bigger part of the HISTORY family after his incredible performance in our upcoming production of Roots.”

Vikings continues to be a powerhouse series worldwide, bolstered by the ongoing support from HISTORY and the direction of our first-class creative team, led by Michael Hirst, and partners World 2000 and Take 5 Productions,” said Mark Burnett, President, Television and Digital Group, MGM and Steve Stark, President, Television Development and Production, MGM. “We are excited to have Jonathan Rhys Meyers join our talented cast and watch as this epic story evolves heading into Season 5.”

The cast of Vikings season four includes Travis Fimmel as Ragnar, Clive Standen as Rollo, Gustaf Skarsgard as Floki, Katheryn Winnick as Lagertha, Alexander Ludwig as Bjorn, Alyssa Sutherland as Princess Aslaug, Maude Hirst as Helga, Morgane Polanski as Princess Gisla, and Dianne Doan as Yidu.